Bengaluru 10th December 2018: The Department of IT, BT and S&T, Government of Karnataka (ITBT-GoK) in association with the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion, Government of India is organizing a Startup Karnataka Yatra, as part of the latter’s Startup India Yatra program. As of now, 419 districts spread over 28 states and 6 Union Territories have registered for the program. 44% of the startups are from Tier II and Tier III cities. The program involves a two day acceleration program at a suitable incubator for ideas/startups shortlisted from the bootcamps. Pitching sessions for incubation of the winners from the ideas/startups shortlisted from the bootcamps are also conducted. The acceleration program and grand finale of the Startup Karnataka Yatra is scheduled to be held in Bengaluru on the 17th and 18thDecember 2018.

In accordance with the format of the Startup India Yatra, ITBT-GoK is organizing bootcamps at 8-10 different academic institutions in Tier II and Tier III cities. In order to attract maximum participation from Tier II and Tier III cities, evangelization of the Startup Yatra before the boot camp is being conducted at Bidar, Gulbarga, Bijapur, Bagalkot, Belagavi, Uttar Kannada, Shivamogga, Udupi, Dakshina Kannada, Hassan, Mysuru, Mandya and Tumukuru. The cities chosen for bootcamps include Bidar, Belagavi, Hubbali, Bellary, Shivamogga, Mangaluru, Hassan and Mysuru.